Government and Safety

Local Government

Anne Arundel County is Maryland’s fifth largest county. Most communities, with the exception of the City of Annapolis and Highland Beach, do not have their own governments so all services are handled by the county.

The executive branch of county government is led by a county executive, elected every four years and limited to two terms in office. A seven-member county council, elected from districts across the county for four-year terms, makes up the legislative branch. They may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms.

The county government provides police and fire protection, garbage removal, and water & sewer service. County schools are administered independently by a board appointed by the governor, with funding approved by county government. For information on all county services, visit or call the Community & Constituent Services Hotline at 410-222-2222. For a current listing of local and state government officials and how to reach them, click Government Officials.

Public Safety

The county government provides police and fire protection. In addition to those services, many neighborhoods have formed formal Community Crime Watch programs. The program is designed to enhance neighborhood security, heighten the community's power of observation, and to encourage mutual assistance and concern among neighbors. Citizens should call the Anne Arundel County Police Department's Crime Prevention Unit at 410-222-0042 to establish a program in their community. The Western District Police Station also hosts a Police-Community Relations Council one a month where local citizens can share their concerns and learn about crime in the area. The council meets on the second Wednesday of the month in the Meeting Room of the Western District Police Station at 8273 Telegraph Road in Odenton. Contact Dave Daughters for more information at

Western District Police Station Captain Jerard Flemings
8273 Telegraph Road
Odenton , MD 21113

Maryland State Police
410-974-3301 or 410-761-5130
(jurisdiction over all state roads and intersections)

US Park Police
(jurisdiction over the Baltimore Washington Parkway )

Anne Arundel County Sheriff’s Office
Sherriff Ron Bateman
(serves warrants and subpoenas)

Anne Arundel County Police
Chief James Teare, Sr.
(serves all areas of the county except the City of Annapolis and Fort George G. Meade)

Anne Arundel County Fire Department
Fire Chief John Robert Ray
8501 Veteran’s Highway
Millersville, MD
410-222-8300 (Administration)
410-222-8200 (Fire Marshal)

Corporate Trustees

Academy Yard A.J. Properties    The Bank of Glen Burnie BB&T The Columbia Bank The Dolben Company, Inc. Elm Street Development   Heimlantz Logo 4c CPA   FisherLawOffice logo Flats 170 at Academy Yard Huff Insurance  Old Line Bank The UPS Store - Odenton/Hanover